Skip to main content

3MT Competition Winners 2020

3MT Competition Winners 2020

Thank you to all who participated in the 3 Minute Thesis (3MT) competition on February 21, 2020! Participating in the competition is an opportunity for graduate students to share their research in a way that enables other students to more easily understand the fascinating projects they are working on. Congratulations to this year’s winners who received cash awards for their hard work:

1st ($1000): Reuben Dass
2nd ($750): Elaura Gustafson
3rd ($500): Aaron Vaughn

Honorable mentions ($50): Rebecca Viazzo and William Ludlam
Reuben Dass, a chemistry PhD student, have the privilege of competing in the university-wide competition on March 12th in the WSC Varsity Theatre at 11 a.m. His presentation entitled, The Discovery of A Dual Kinase Inhibitor: A Potential Anticancer Agent, will focus on his research about “the development of potential anticancer medication by making molecules that block specific receptors on cancer cells that help [them] operate and survive,” Dass said.

We encourage students in the college to take advantage of this opportunity to cheer on one of our own and see for yourselves just how cool it would be for you to become involved in the 3MT competition next year. Good luck Reuben!